The Washington Women’s Rugby Football Club (WWRFC), more commonly known as the Furies, was founded in 1978 in Washington, D.C.

The team was originally formed from a nucleus of five skilled and hardworking rugby players, and quickly developed into a highly competitive club team. Over the years, other skilled and dedicated athletes have replaced the now-retired initial members. These new players share the same intensity and love for the game as the team’s originators.

The Furies compete in the Mid-Atlantic Rugby Union and the Capital Geographic Union, with both Division 1 and Division 3 competitive teams.

A number of Furies have been members of the United States National Team (U.S. Eagles), the United States 7s National Team and the Under-23 United States National Team. Furies have also been selected to the the Women’s National team pool and the Capital Geographic Union select and developmental sides.

The Furies are also an international traveling force. In 1997, the Furies toured France, and in 1999, the team ventured to Ireland. In 2001, the Furies toured down under for two weeks of intense Australian rugby competition. And in 2004, the Furies took a competitive team abroad and hit the streets of South Africa. In 2006, the Furies played in Argentina, beating teams in Buenos Aires, Iguazu Falls, and Corrientes. In August 2010, the Furies traveled to London, England to play local teams and attend the Women’s Rugby World Cup, a tradition that was repeated in 2017 when the Furies traveled to Ireland for the World Cup and played in a local 10s tournament.

The Furies are proud to host Ruggerfest each year, one of the largest all women's rugby tournaments in the United States.